imfdb.org  

Go Back   imfdb.org > The Forum > Just Guns

Old 02-09-2009, 07:35 PM
IMFDB Admin

Default It sucks to be British :(

Don't know if anyone noticed that THE PROPSTORE of LONDON has a disclaimer now, saying that they have NEW legislation that BANS non firing RUBBER props from movies to be sold to the general public. They have to now sell their ridiculously overpriced discarded deactivated or rubber movie guns to buyers outside of the country. WTF?
Old 02-09-2009, 08:08 PM
IMFDB & Forum Admin

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoviePropMaster2008 View Post
Don't know if anyone noticed that THE PROPSTORE of LONDON has a disclaimer now, saying that they have NEW legislation that BANS non firing RUBBER props from movies to be sold to the general public. They have to now sell their ridiculously overpriced discarded deactivated or rubber movie guns to buyers outside of the country. WTF?
Yep, saw it a while ago.

I was a study abroad student in London (Spring semester, 2007). While I was there, I had an airsoft Glock 17, just to play around with. Now, since I left you can't buy airsoft guns unless they're colored something other than black (and as you can imagine, manufacturers aren't rushing to make pink or green guns specially for the British market). It's utterly insane to me how stupid these people are that they ban things not based on crime rates, but on a few isolated incidents. Michael Ryan shot several people in Hungerford with an AK-47, so they ban all semi-automatic rifles and shotguns. Then Thomas Hamilton goes apeshit with two Browning HPs in Dunblane, so they ban all handguns. Now, there have been some incidents involving "realistic imitation guns" being used in robberies, so their response is to ban those.