imfdb.org  

Go Back   imfdb.org > The Forum > Just Guns

Old 06-30-2013, 10:34 PM

Default Hypothetical Question for any Police Officers out there

You just pulled a guy over because he was driving a little too fast. He's polite and cooperative, handing over his license when you ask for it, but as he reaches for his glove compartment to get his registration, he hesitates and puts his hands back on the wheel.

"Officer," he says, "I want to inform that I just remembered that I have a firearm in my glove compartment on top of my registration. I am licensed to carry concealed and I have all my documents of ownership with me."

How would you handle this situation from this point forward?
Old 07-01-2013, 12:37 AM
IMFDB Admin

I am a police officer but a British one, so this situation would never arise for me. However being the kind of guy that i am I have looked into this sort of stuff, and firstly I have to say that the guy with the CCW should never start by saying that "I have a firearm" or anything like it. The more sensible response would be to first say that you have a carry permit and then that you are currently carrying a weapon. The officer should then ask you exactly where it is, and then ask you to show him your permit. If in the case you described you vehicle registration is inside the glove box with your firearm then it is likely that he would proceed with the stop without asking to see it, as he would have ran your number plate when he stopped you and assuming nothing is out of the ordinary all that he would have to do would be to confirm your identity from your license. In some States that allow concealed carry they have laws saying that you must inform the officer if you are carrying, but even if you aren't it is a very good idea to let them know immediately anyway.
Old 07-01-2013, 12:56 AM
IMFDB & Forum Admin

Quote:
Originally Posted by commando552 View Post