imfdb.org  

Go Back   imfdb.org > The Forum > Just Guns

Old 09-11-2009, 05:19 AM

Default Question from newbie : U.S soldiers with AK?

Hey, i am kinda newbie here, so.....Take it easy with me man XD.

I'd like to ask some questions about our troopers in the Iraq. Some of my friends(they're extremely accurate, and i cannot say they're bluffing me on this) told me that U.S soldiers in Iraq is using AK-47/AKM(or it's copy or....whatever) from iraqi soldiers because they're kinda running out of guns.

I know it is absolutely ridiculous, and it makes sense in some way. No guns.. Only available gun in Iraq widely is AK series, and Iraqi soldiers are friendly, so we might be able to have an experiece of having and shooting AK in the actual battlefield.......

What do you guys think? Is this real? or just makes me like jerk in here?

Last edited by zzang1847; 09-11-2009 at 05:22 AM. Reason: putting some more pic and comment XD
Old 09-11-2009, 05:30 AM

The US military is not so short on weapons that they're using foreign kit. You are talking about the best-equipped military in the world (in quantity if not always quality). That would never happen. You might see pictures of guys shooting or posing with foreign kit for kicks, that's normal. I have plenty of pictures of using an SA80, but that's not a Canadian issue weapon, I just happened to play with one during some cross-training.

Most armies have very strict rules against using battlefield pickup weapons. You don't know what kind of condition it's in or if it's going to be effective or even safe. You don't know what conditions the weapon, and more importantly the ammo, has been stored in, you don't know how it's been maintained, and even worse you don't know if it's been sabotaged.