imfdb.org  

Go Back   imfdb.org > The Forum > imfdb

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2020, 02:25 AM
MT2008's Avatar
MT2008 MT2008 is offline
IMFDB & Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,538
Default Is there any way to take screencaps on streaming services anymore?

I just tried to take some pics on my laptop from a movie I was watching on Amazon Prime for this site. No joy. I've been used to this issue on my iPad for some time now, but it used to be that I could still take screencaps on my laptop. Now, I've discovered that I can't do that, either.

Anyone know when this happened? I'm kinda apprehensive about what this means for sites like ours.
__________________
Cry "Havoc," and let slip the hogs of war.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2020, 01:31 PM
Spartan198's Avatar
Spartan198 Spartan198 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The scorched state of California
Posts: 2,233
Default

Some screencaps I added to the Valor page recently were taken via PRT SCRN while watching it on Netflix. Maybe Amazon did something to prevent screencapping? Similar to how Sony and Microsoft supposedly made it so that screen capture functionality on PS4 and Xbone didn't work when streaming or watching DVDs because people were pirating movies and TV shows by screencapping them frame-by-frame.
__________________
"The gun has played a critical role in history. An invention which has been praised and denounced... served hero and villain alike... and carries with it moral responsibility. To understand the gun is to better understand history."

“What is morality in any given time or place? It is what the majority then and there happen to like, and immorality is what they dislike.” - Alfred North Whitehead
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2020, 05:49 PM
funkychinaman's Avatar
funkychinaman funkychinaman is offline
IMFDB & Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,574
Default

Have you guys tried the method in the Screencapping Guide? I know it's from a few years ago, I haven't tried it in years.
__________________
"Me fail English? That's unpossible!"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2020, 06:28 PM
funkychinaman's Avatar
funkychinaman funkychinaman is offline
IMFDB & Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,574
Default

I just tested it now with Amazon Prime. The suggested method in the Screencapping Guide still works, it's just takes a bit more practice now. And if you pause, then go to File>Screen Capture>Capture Rectangle Region, you can still get a good screencap.
__________________
"Me fail English? That's unpossible!"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2020, 05:41 PM
MT2008's Avatar
MT2008 MT2008 is offline
IMFDB & Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,538
Default

So, upon further investigation, it appears that the problem is with my new laptop, not the apps. I loaded Amazon Prime on my old laptop (which I still haven't disposed of yet), and I was able to take screencaps without an issue. I'll have to investigate further.
__________________
Cry "Havoc," and let slip the hogs of war.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.