imfdb.org  

Go Back   imfdb.org > The Forum > imfdb

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2016, 09:58 PM
Rockwolf66's Avatar
Rockwolf66 Rockwolf66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 791
Default Script errors in Firefox.

Hey all,
I'm surfing via Firefox and whenever I go on IMFDB I get hit by a bunch of "Script errors" where the little popup tells me that a script is unresponsive or has stopped working. It then takes hitting the "Continue/Debug/ Stop" script button repeatedly.

I don't know if it's just my desktop and Laptop or there are bugs using Firefox?
Desktop is currently windows 7( soon to be windows 10)
Laptop is windows 8

Both have at least a terabite of HD space and 4 GB of RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2016, 07:18 AM
Spartan198's Avatar
Spartan198 Spartan198 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,950
Default

I'm not having any such issues.
__________________
"The gun has played a critical role in history. An invention which has been praised and denounced... served hero and villain alike... and carries with it moral responsibility. To understand the gun is to better understand history."

“What is morality in any given time or place? It is what the majority then and there happen to like, and immorality is what they dislike.” - Alfred North Whitehead
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2016, 04:12 PM
commando552 commando552 is offline
IMFDB Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: England
Posts: 476
Default

Do you generally see ads on the site? If so then my guess is that there is one of them that is having some sort of issue for you. To get rid of the adds you can use an add blocker, or more simply just change your appearance preferences for imfdb to anything but the default (e.g. change it from Vector to Monobook).

Last edited by commando552; 07-09-2016 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2016, 10:40 PM
Rockwolf66's Avatar
Rockwolf66 Rockwolf66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 791
Default

Welp it seems that an Adblocker stops the errors. Plus it seems that it's time for me to upgrade all my computers as I'm getting low memory messages when I do graphics heavy stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2016, 06:37 PM
StanTheMan StanTheMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: AR, USA
Posts: 76
Default

I get that on rare occasion on the odd page or two, but not here - In the case of our pages I agree it's likely ads causing a conflict.

As for the memory issue, FireFox is quite the memory hog, I know given it's what I've used for the longest and still use. Might wanna hunt around some tech sites and read up some ways to optimize your FF use, via changes and a mod or two - It can help quite a lot let me tell ya. (Though a memory upgrade wouldn't be a bad idea anyway.)
__________________
"..If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you - It would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun."
- The Dalai Lama
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2016, 05:17 PM
Evil Tim's Avatar
Evil Tim Evil Tim is offline
IMFDB & Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The surface of the sun
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockwolf66 View Post
Hey all,
I'm surfing via Firefox and whenever I go on IMFDB I get hit by a bunch of "Script errors" where the little popup tells me that a script is unresponsive or has stopped working. It then takes hitting the "Continue/Debug/ Stop" script button repeatedly.

I don't know if it's just my desktop and Laptop or there are bugs using Firefox?
Desktop is currently windows 7( soon to be windows 10)
Laptop is windows 8

Both have at least a terabite of HD space and 4 GB of RAM.
This would normally happen due to a slow computer encountering something like a video ad (my ancient laptop does it all the time) but check yourself for viruses just in case they're malicious popups pretending to be system dialogs, we've had problems with those before.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2016, 08:20 AM
Spartan198's Avatar
Spartan198 Spartan198 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,950
Default

Malwarebytes is probably the most comprehensive program I've ever used. If there are any viruses hiding on your machine, chances are this will find and clear them. The premium version is dirt cheap, to boot.
__________________
"The gun has played a critical role in history. An invention which has been praised and denounced... served hero and villain alike... and carries with it moral responsibility. To understand the gun is to better understand history."

“What is morality in any given time or place? It is what the majority then and there happen to like, and immorality is what they dislike.” - Alfred North Whitehead
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2016, 02:26 PM
MT2008's Avatar
MT2008 MT2008 is offline
IMFDB & Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,471
Default

I've had the same problems recently (I'm an Opera user, not a Firefox user). I have cleaned up a lot of malware on my laptop, but I still get script errors.

I mostly browse IMFDB on my iPad these days, but the fact that it's so slow on my laptop is one of the reasons that I don't edit IMFDB much anymore.
__________________
Cry "Havoc," and let slip the hogs of war.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.