imfdb.org  

Go Back   imfdb.org > The Forum > Guns & Movies

Old 08-31-2009, 05:17 AM

Question Realistic Shooting Video Games?

Hi, firstly i just wanted to say this is a really cool site and the people here really have a great knowledge of firearms. Hopefully i can learn more myself along the way as i'm a bit of a beginner. Anyways, i was just wondering if anyone knew of any video games with realistic/semi-realistic shooting mechanics in it. I saw the thread about realistic shootouts in films which i thought was very interesting and gave me the idea for this thread. So first i thought i'd start with the ones i've already played.

Probably the most realistic games i've played in this regard are Operation Flashpoint and Arma. Both are excellent games (require a bit of patience though). The Main complaints i have with OF (which is a game that i do love to death nonetheless) is that the gun sounds aren't very good, no handguns (though i think they were added in the resistance expansion) and even though AI die fairly quick the sometimes don't react from a bullet as expected. Though all round Operation Flashpoint and Arma i think are very realistic tactical shooters. (I haven't actually played Arma 2 yet btw, don't think it would work on my pc though)

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Shadow of Chernobyl has some nice shooting mechanics in terms of bullet drop, but overall it some area's that i think are a bit unrealistic. Mostly in terms of damage where the AI can take a lot of round to the body and barely react. I remember shooting a guy in the foot about five times with an AKS-74U and he barely reacted lol. But i do like that handguns are pretty useless over long ranges. It does have a great selection of guns (some of the models and sounds are a bit off though) and also has a lot of cartridge varities. The oblivion lost mod fixes a lot of issues i had with the game in general though.