imfdb.org

imfdb.org (http://forum.imfdb.org/index.php)
-   Guns & Movies (http://forum.imfdb.org/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Could you make blank firing guns recoil? (http://forum.imfdb.org/showthread.php?t=410)

k9870 07-25-2009 02:31 AM

Could you make blank firing guns recoil?

I was wondering, if you added some weight to the slie, so it had more force moving back, or made something like a reverse compensator, that pushed the barrel up, wold this be possible?

MT2008 07-25-2009 03:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by k9870 (Post 4987)
I was wondering, if you added some weight to the slie, so it had more force moving back, or made something like a reverse compensator, that pushed the barrel up, wold this be possible?

Would that really increase recoil? Heavier pistols tend to have less recoil, not more recoil. Adding weight to the slide sounds to me like it would just interfere with the operation. Though I have no clue, as I've never tried it before.

Nyles 07-25-2009 06:14 AM

They already have trouble generating enough pressure from a blank to move the action, adding more weight would just make it that much more difficult. And again, weight soaks up recoil, so it wouldn't work.

Gunmaster45 07-25-2009 07:00 AM

The M60 has a heavy bolt, which is why it kicks when firing blanks in movies.

I wish they could develop a blank with recoil or some type of system to include recoil so guns would look more realistic in movies. Even if the actors could learn to fake it, that'd work.

gunguy001 07-25-2009 04:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gunmaster45 (Post 4991)
The M60 has a heavy bolt, which is why it kicks when firing blanks in movies.

Depends who is firing the thing.

Quote:

I wish they could develop a blank with recoil or some type of system to include recoil so guns would look more realistic in movies. Even if the actors could learn to fake it, that'd work.